Concussion Web Page: http://www.epbba.org/Page.asp?n=53512&org=epbba.org
Head Coaches (In-House and Travel) and Assistant Coaches (Travel):
PLEASE complete these steps by November 1 (Travel) or December 1 (In-House) before the start of the season. EPBBA is required by Minnesota State Law to have all coaches in grades K-12 the certification for concussions. The completed certification is valid for 3 years.
· If you last took the course 3 years ago or prior for basketball or another youth sport, you will need to take the course again this year. It will take approximately 20 – 30 minutes to complete.
· If you have a valid certificate from this year, last year or two years ago, we are asking you to register the date of your valid certificate. We don’t require an digital copy.
IF YOU HAVE A VALID CERTIFICATE
To REGISTER your valid certificate from this year, last year or two years ago:
Go to www.epbba.org. Register for the Coaches Certification by entering the completion date. Click Register Online on the left menu and follow the steps below.
Please do not set up a new database record on the EPBBA website for yourself. You are already in the system, and your data base record aligns that you are a Coach.
- go to www.epbba.org
- select Register Online (left menu)
- select Register (under Coaches Concussion Law Certification)
- select Continue when the message that you must be over the age of 18 appears
- enter your email and password (the one used for registration)
- your personal info will display, select register on the bottom
- enter the year, month, and day that you completed your certification
- this must be a valid date from this year, last year or two years ago
- as part of the transition support to this new annual registration process, a list of those who registered valid concussion training in 2019 is attached
- select submit information
IF YOU NEED TO TAKE CONCUSSION TRAINING
(Your training was taken 3 or more years ago OR you haven’t taken Concussion Training)
- Access the On-line Video https://nfhslearn.com/courses/61129/concussion-in-sports
a. Select MN for state & select Order the Course (there is a $0 cost for taking the course)
b. Enter your email and password if you have taken the course in the past. If this is your first time, you will need to setup an account.
c. Note: You will need to create an account with NFHS with your email and password (this web site is an independent company not affiliated with EPBBA)
2. Allocate 20 -30 minutes of your time to complete certification: Watch the video and complete the 11-question test.
3. Pass the certification test and save a copy of the certificate to your computer (print to a pdf file.) Save this file in a location that you will remember for the next two years, as you will reference this to register your valid concussion training certification date.
4. Register your valid certificate as outlined above.
PLEASE NOTE: This site is not linked to your EPBBA account in any way. PLEASE DO NOT create another account on the EPBBA web site, or register your son for concussion training. Your information is tied to your existing email and password.
Here are the details of Minnesota's Concussion Law:
The Minnesota Legislature's "Concussion Law" requires online training for all coaches and officials and concussion education for all parents and athletes.
The Minnesota Legislature passed a "Concussion Law" which requires any municipality, business, school district or nonprofit organization that organizes a youth athletic activity and charges a fee to follow the statute's requirements, including implementing concussion training and education to improve player safety and establish safe return-to-play policies for athletes who sustain a concussion.
The law mandates that all coaches and officials receive concussion training and education by September 1, 2011, and then at three-year intervals thereafter. Coaches must remove an athlete from activity if they exhibit signs, symptoms, or behaviors consistent with a concussion and/or are suspected of sustaining a concussion. The law also requires a doctor's signature to return to play if an athlete is removed due to a concussion or is showing signs or symptoms of a concussion.
The concussion education we recommend for coaches and officials is the online video training session developed by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the National Federation of State High Schools (http://nfhslearn.com/courses/38000). This course requires registration, but it is free. Over 200,000 coaches and officials have already successfully completed this course.
The training process involves watching a video and then successfully completing a quiz. The entire training module can be completed in a little over a half an hour and then participants can print out a Certificate of Completion. Users should use a screen capture to save the certificate on their desktop or print and scan the certificate to create a digital file.